Hello again,
Pay close attention to this article because not only could I be showing you a new method to dramatically increase online sales, but there is an opportunity for you to share in a business opportunity and make some serious money yourself.
This is a new (to me) method of getting highly targeted pre-qualified visitors to your website that I unearthed by thinking Direct Marketing instead of Internet Marketing. I have been working on this off and on for a for a while and spent most of today re-focussing and developing a landing page and Ad.
I can't go into too much detail because the market segment is highly competitive, highly lucrative (if you get it right) and expensive, but I can give you an outline and when my campaign has run it's course I'll (maybe) give you more detail.
I say "maybe" because if it's successful I may decide to keep it to myself or at best make the information available in an eBook or other paid-for form.
I have been running a few Google AdWord ads for my website for a couple of months and getting a trickle of visitors. For the period 10 Mar 2007 to 9 May 2007 the stats are:
Impressions: 14,533
Clicks: 68
CTR: 0.46%
Sales: 1
Conversion Rate: 1.47%
Cost: $43
Cost Per Click (CPC): $0.63
Cost per impression: $0.003
Revenue (Sales): $127
Return On Investment (ROI): 295%
Clearly this is a profitable campaign but there are difficulties.
The main difficulty is the low number of impressions delivered by Google. 14,533 in 60 days is 242 per day and 1.13 clicks per day.
1 sale in two months = 6 sales per year!
Of course I could do some tweaking here and there, price, offer, etc, the usual stuff. But the fact of the matter is that the level of traffic isn't high enough to properly measure the effects of the tweaking.
And even if I were to quadruple the sales it would still be only 24 a year, one every two weeks!
That's no good to me, I need hundreds of sales.
What is needed is a massive increase in traffic at the same cost or less, but from where?
Direct Marketing To The Rescue?
I started researching the list brokers here in U. K. for suppliers of lists to my niche market sector. (Sorry can't reveal the sector for commercial reasons).
If you aren't familiar with list brokers, they provide lists of prospects. They provide names, addresses, phone numbers and sometimes email addresses.
I went to my favorite broker's site and on a broad match to my niche market sector found 36 lists. You can specify in great detail what these people are interested in, what they have bought etc.
Just picking out a few lists to give you an example:
1. LEGACY DATABASE OF ?? (managed)
Quantity: 6,112
Base Price: £150.00
* NEW LIST This is a great opportunity to market to a list of individuals who have demonstrated a positive interest in all types of ??
2. HI-RESPONSIVE ?? (managed)
Quantity: 43,086
Base Price: £150.00
?? Buyers are always a responsive bunch of people to approach and this list, built exclusively by direct mail, is one of the most comprehensive collections of ?? names on the market. Anyone wishing to reach this crowd would be well advised to give this list some consideration for their next mailing.
3. STREETWISE ?? (managed)
Quantity: 21,117
Base Price: £185.00
* Recently Updated * This is a list of ?? enthusiasts who have spent between £50.00 and £2,300 on a range of ?? related information products from Streetwise Marketing. Products include: Books, Courses, Advisory Services and Newsletters.
THE ?? NEWSLETTER MASTERFILE (managed)
Quantity: 9,586Base Price: £150.00
* NEW FILE * This brand new database is a list of both active subscribers and lapsed subscribers to two rapidly expanding ?? newsletters. The first is called "??, the second being "??". Subscribers are paying in excess of £50.00 per annum for a subscription.
As I said, there are 36 lists.
The four above total 79,901 highly responsive names. Taking a quick average there should be around 719,109 names in the 36 lists.
Now those are the sort of numbers that get me excited.
If - stretching the imagination a bit I know - but if, if, I could effectively and cheaply contact all those leads and maintain the same conversion rate of 1,47% that I am getting with Google AdSense, I would make 1.47 / 100 X 719,109 = 10,571 sales.
At $67 per sale = $708,257.
Interested Now?
You can see above that the prices quoted for the lists are in the range of £150 per thousand - about $300 / 1000 or $0.30 each.
That compares to the $0.63 average I am paying for Google AdSense leads.
Of course, there is a difference. The $0.63 average I am paying for Google AdSense leads are for actual visitors to my website.
The $0.30 each for the mailing list is just to send them something - not actual reposes.
If I compare the cost of these leads with the cost per impression for Google AdSense leads:
Google: $0.003
Mailing List: $0.30
Clearly the mailing list leads are far too expensive - unless they give a vastly improved conversion rate over Google.
Consider this also: A Direct Mailing shot to these leads will cost at least $2 per lead!
Pay Per Click eMail Lists
Not happy with the above scenario, and the lists I was looking at weren't target enough to my niche market sector, I searched around for more list brokers.
I found several, but one in particular (sorry - confidential) had a list of 16,666 names perfectly target to my market.
The prices per name were lower than the other mailing lists and they were targeted. Plus they had physical mailing addresses and email addresses.
Total Email Volume: 16,666
Rate: £60 ($120) cost per thousand emails sent= $0.12 each
The price includes the mailing and tracking.
But still I wasn't satisfied. So in conversations with the broker, they offered a Pay Per Click deal.
Click volume: 4,000
Cost per Click: £0.35
That compares with the $0.63 I am paying at Google!
And...
... And, I get to write the Ad that is sent to the list, just as I write the Google Ads. Better than that, I am not limited to the tiny size of Google AdSense Ads, I have a whole page to myself!
So that's why I am busy making the landing page, fine-tuning the offer on the website and preparing the Ad.
Did I Forget Something?
Yes I did. Or rather I didn't forget it, but I didn't mention it yet.
Using Google, at 68 clicks in two months it would take 12 weeks to get my 4,000 clicks. I can get all 4,000 sent out instantly.
Assuming the same conversion rate that I get with Google (1.47%) that would translate into 59 Sales, almost overnight.
Sales revenue = 59 X $127 = $7,493, ROI = 267%.
Of course, my test of 4,000 will be sent out according to my schedule, giving me time - and having sufficient volume - to tweak and measure.
Go Do It
Does that give you some ideas?
At least the metrics (numbers) I have given you should be of value to you in gauging the cost and profitability.
Go try something similar yourself on your own campaigns.
A new approach I've not seen reported anywhere else on the Net. If you have seen anything similar please feel free to let me know.
That's all for today.
No sites for you to visit. Unless you want to see the highly successful squeeze page that I am copying over to this new campaign.
Example of a successful squeeze page:
http://www.youcangetwhatyouwant.com
Until next time,
Best Regards
Alan Brown
I will be pleased to receive your comments by email.
Go here to email me:
http://www.alansays.com/contact
Wednesday, 9 May 2007
Pay Per Click (PPC) Advertising With An Offline/Online Marketing Twist
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